East County Water Management Association

The East County Water Management Association (ECWMA) forms the basis of the ECCC-IRWM Program’s governing body, the Regional Water Management Group (RWMG). Each member of the ECWMA appoints staff to serve as representatives on the RWMG, conducting manners pertaining to the IRWM Program. The staff representatives of the ECWMA that constitute the RWMG are responsible for representing their agencies and providing input on IRWM matters on behalf of their agencies. The RWMG members meet as needed to discuss IRWM and other regional matters, and are responsible for taking issues to their representatives on the ECWMA to resolve disputes or settle issues. Approximately two times per year the RWMG members meet with the larger ECWMA to inform the group of recent IRWM-related activities and other pertinent matters that are of interest to the ECWMA. These bi-annual meetings of the ECWMA are open to the public, noticed, and conducted in accordance with the Brown Act, Government Code Section 54950 et seq. As such, the ECWMA meetings provide a forum through which non-ECWMA member agencies, participants, stakeholders, and members of the public can provide input on the ECCC IRWM Program.

The ECCC region covers all aspects of water management within the region: drinking water supply and quality, wastewater, recycled water, flood control and stormwater, and watershed and habitat management.

  • The City of Antioch distributes water
    from the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and the San Joaquin River to over 103,000 residents, while also maintaining a wastewater collection system that flows to the Delta Diablo’s wastewater treatment plant. The City also operates and maintains a stormwater system within its jurisdiction.

  • The City of Brentwood provides water from local groundwater wells and surface water through the East Contra Costa Irrigation District’s entitlements to serve more than 52,000 residents. The City also collects and treats wastewater to meet recycled water standards. A portion of this recycled water is used for irrigation.

  • Byron Bethany Irrigation District BBID operates and maintains the wastewater collection system and treatment facility for the residents of Byron and provides agricultural water to southeast Contra Costa County. BBID water supplies come from the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and the Central Valley Project.

  • Contra Costa County Flood Control and Water Conservation District (CCCFCWCD) maintains the major storm drainage and flood protection facilities and the Contra Costa County watershed area while protecting its environmental resources.

  • Contra Costa Water District supplies water to almost half a million residents of Contra Costa County; the cities of Antioch and Pittsburg and the Diablo Water District all purchase untreated water from CCWD in order to serve their local populations.

  • Delta Diablo collects and treats the wastewater for 184,000 residents of the Cities of Antioch and Pittsburg and the unincorporated community of Bay Point. Delta Diablo supplies recycled water to local industrial and irrigation users, and manages the Delta Household Hazardous Waste Collection Facility.

  • Diablo Water District (DWD) serves water from local groundwater wells and surface water from the Contra Costa Water District to the 35,000 residents of the City of Oakley, Cypress Corridor, Hotchkiss Tract, Summer Lakes, and portions of Bethel Island and Knightsen.

  • Discovery Bay Community Services District  provides water and wastewater services to the residents of Discovery Bay, including distribution, collection, treatment, and storage. All of the District’s water is supplied by local groundwater wells.

  • East Contra Costa County Habitat Conservancy is a collaborative effort by the Cities of Brentwood, Clayton, Oakley, and Pittsburg and Contra Costa County to protect the natural resources and endangered species of East Contra Costa County through implementation of the Habitat Conservation Plan/Natural Community Conservation Plan.

  • East Contra Costa Irrigation District (ECCID) delivers irrigation water for agricultural, landscaping, and recreational uses and raw water for treatment and delivery to the Cities of Antioch, Brentwood, and Oakley and the unincorporated community of Knightsen. ECCID supplies come from surface water and groundwater.

  • Ironhouse Sanitary District (ISD) provides wastewater collection, treatment, storage, and disposal to over 38,000 residents of the City of Oakley, the unincorporated area of Bethel Island and other unincorporated areas, including the East Cypress Corridor Specific Plan Area. The District also supplies recycled water for irrigation.

  • The City of Pittsburg supplies water from the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta through the Contra Costa Water District and from local groundwater wells to its 60,000 residents. The City also maintains a wastewater collection system that flows to Delta Diablo’s wastewater treatment plant.